travel
Comments 12

Lake Cottage Living in South Carolina

Riding public transport in the heat of summer, I often lose myself in interior design and home deco magazines, contemplating tranquility at a perfectly decorated cottage. These magazines depict perfect lake houses, summer houses, and beach cottages, decorated to pure perfection. Instagrammable, millennials would call it. Imagining myself being in one of these places causes an instant rush of bliss and comfort.

Well, turns out I am a very lucky girl. This picture-perfect lake cottage does exist in my boyfriend’s family. It is situated at a quiet lake in the US state of South Carolina and celebrates calmness and relaxation in its purest form. His family acquired a run-down house in 2001 and in the past years turned it into a little piece of heaven on earth. Together, they have transformed this cottage into what it is today – a gorgeous hideaway far from bustling city life and stressful jobs. So, in July my life ran on lake-time and I restored my soul.

           

DSC_0378

Interior Design by Lyne-Andrée Benoit

Construction by Patrick Ossowski

Photography by Melanie Pfeffer

This entry was posted in: travel

12 Comments

    • Wow, thank you so very much for the kind comment. It means the world to me. Just getting into blogging here and love that it sends out a positive vibe. Maybe you want to follow my instagram: @thevoyagette

      Like

  1. Donna Ludwig says

    As usual, gorgeous photography that portrays this blissful place perfectly. I am fortunate to have been a guest and hope to be many more times. Lyne herself took a sunrise picture on Friday that was “Melanie-worthy”. Ask her to send it to you if she hasn’t already. So glad we got to share some special time with you and Yael in this little piece of heaven.

    Like

  2. Melissa Fassett says

    Absolutely beautiful! !! Thanks to Catherine for sharing!!! Lynne is in the wrong business! Interior Design is a Must!

    Like

  3. Emily says

    Lovely cottage ! You are lucky but as a Southerner myself in Austria, I am also finding some beautiful lakes here as well.

    Like

Leave a comment